Origin, by Dan Brown

dan brown origin

We are now perched on a strange cusp of history… a time when the world feels like it’s been turned upside down, and nothing is quite like we imagined. But uncertainty is always a precursor to sweeping change; transformation is always preceded by upheaval and fear. I urge you to place your faith in the human capacity for creativity and love, because these two forces, when combined, possess the power to illuminate any darkness.

Origin was a much-anticipated book for me. I had been looking forward to it since Dan Brown first announced it. I went to Barnes and Noble the morning it came out so I could start reading it right away. The surprises started right away as I sat stretched out on the bed and sipped some tea. I always have to read the synopsis printed on the book, even if I already know what it’s about before I buy it, and I’m glad I did this time. To my delight, there was a secret code in the synopsis, and I just knew I was going to be in for a treat once I actually started reading the novel.

The newest installment following Robert Langdon seeks to answer two big questions: Where do we come from? and Where are we going? Langdon accepts an invitation to an event planned by Edmund Kirsch, a futurist and one of Langdon’s first students. Kirsch was planning to make an announcement about a discovery he made that will alter the course of humanity when suddenly chaos ensues and the presentation is cut short. Now it’s up to Langdon to make sure Kirsch’s announcement isn’t lost forever, and so begins the adventure throughout Spain as Langdon hurries to uncover the truth and bring it to the world.

One of the main themes of this book is science vs. religion and if the two can coexist. This is a big debate in the present day, and it works well in this story. Another theme is technology vs. humanity, which raises the question of how far technology should really go and what it could mean for society. These two major topics give the reader plenty to think about, and I enjoyed reading views on each side.

As always with Dan Brown books, the art and science were very well researched (and real), so whenever a piece of art was being discussed, I could Google it and see it for myself, which made it much easier to visualize things I was unfamiliar with. I also took to keeping a list of topics I wanted to read more about later so I could get a deeper understanding of the varying points of view.

Some people complain that Dan Brown leaves plot holes and that his writing is too simplistic, but I don’t think his books are necessarily meant to be analyzed in that way. Personally, I read his writing for the entertainment and adventure, along with being able to learn some new things at the same time. I’ve never noticed gaping holes in the plot, and there’s nothing wrong with his writing style. He uses a conversational tone, and it works well for his writing. I enjoy just going along for the ride and seeing where I end up.

My final rating for this book is 4.5/5 stars. The only reason I didn’t give it a full 5 is because it seemed like it took an extra long time to get to the final reveal. Despite that, it was well worth reading.

 

Leave a comment